Discuss Fault protection/additional protection. in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Simonslimline

-
Arms
Reaction score
Hi..... just a quick question i have regarding RCD on TT systems, would you class the RCD,S as just fault protection, or additional protection aswell?

i am an apprentice doing the proper route, 2357 and was having this discussion today. any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks simon.

Say it was just a split load board with x2 30ma rcd,s

Then if i had an upfront 100ma s type would that be additional protection?

Thanks simon

if your Zs readings are higher thasn the max. values given in BS7671, then the RCD/s are classed as fault protection as well as additional protection. max. Zs for all circuits is then 1667ohms ( assuming a 30mA RCD)

Say it was just a split load board with x2 30ma rcd,s

Then if i had an upfront 100ma s type would that be additional protection?

Thanks simon
Very good question M8, I would suggest if the main switch in the DB was a 100 ma S type and then you had a split 30 ma rcd on both sides of the split then it would be additional protection, you have the usual 30ma with a back up 100 ma S type, definitely additional.

posted same time. your 30mA RCDs are additional. the 100mA is fault protection. but either or both 30mA RCDs would probably trip first in the event of a fault.

yep, it's just ohms law. look at table 41.5 in bgb.

Cheers, we dont seem to have gone in to much depth on TT systems at college and i have worked on a few since i started so just want to make sure my knowledge is up to scratch when dealing with this earthing arrangement.

thanks simon