Discuss Faulty extractor fan in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

JB8888

DIY
Reaction score
Hello,

We moved into a new property 5 months ago and there is an extractor fan in the bathroom that has never worked. This weekend I decided to have a crack at fixing or replacing it. I'm new to DIY so bear with me here!

Firstly, there is no isolator switch for this fan as far as I can tell. I've looked everywhere including climbing up into the loft.

I took apart the new fan and there was a blue wire, and brown wire and then a wire that had been stripped coming out of the wall. I know that blue is neutral and brown is live and from my limited reading I THINK the stripped wire is the 'switched live' wire which has something to do with the timer? The neutral and live wires were connected to the fan itself but the stripped wire was not.

There was no earth wire - should there be?

Anyway, I wired in the new fan, linked the three available wires as follows:

Blue wire: N
Brown: L
Stripped: SL

Turned the light on and nothing happened. Is it possible these wires have been completely disconnected from the mains or have I made a rookie error somewhere?

The bare wire is the cpc aka the earth. Just wants sleeving and putting in a connector out the way. Yes blue is neutral, and brown is line/live. Link that terminal to the switch line terminal and it should work, it wont run on and probably didnt have those terminals linked before hense not working

agree with above.probably not wired for a timer fan, so link the L an S/L terminals with a bit of wire

The bare wire is the cpc aka the earth. Just wants sleeving and putting in a connector out the way. Yes blue is neutral, and brown is line/live. Link that terminal to the switch line terminal and it should work, it wont run on and probably didnt have those terminals linked before hense not working