Discuss FCU fault? in the Industrial Electricians' Talk area at ElectriciansForums.net

Iddy

-
Reaction score
Evening everyone

Hope everyone is well.

Just to make it clear i am not a qualified electrician.

A friend of mine who is a Gas service engineer has mentioned that he went out to a job yesterday to upgrade an old boiler for a new one.
He says he he had switched of the FCU and removed the fuse before he started his work. Upon him removing the old cable feeding the old boiler he got an electric shock?

How would this be possible ? he thinks there is a fault in the FCU

Can anyone provide their expert advice as to why this would happen

Many thanks

It could have been a single pole FCU
The neutral would have remained connected when it was switched off
The neutral may have had a potential difference to the earth on the boiler and if he bridged the neutral and earth he could have felt a shock

Another way could be, as above, but the live and neutral reversed in the switch
When switched off,the neutral may have been switched and the live still connected

He meeds to isolate the supply and test at the boiler with a voltage tester before dipping his fingers in the connections

If he had bothered to test for dead then he wouldnt of recieved a shock - pretty much serves him right, and he shouldnt automatically blame the fcu without any prior testing.

Gents

I really appreciate the replies,

makes complete sense now its obvious to me he did not do a safe isolation from you guys have described.

Thanks

It's also possible, the supply to the boiler is fed from a central heating controller elsewhere in the house which may provide a switched supply as well as a permanent feed. This may not be isolated before it connects to the boiler, so pulling the fuse on the connection unit wont isolate all supply. As the other guys say, isolate at the fuse board, and prove the supply is dead with a meter. Every time !