Discuss Fed up with ECS, can anybody help? in the Electrician Courses : Electrical Quals area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hi all,

Since leaving the Army on medical grounds I have been unsuccessful in finding work in the electrical industry. I was an electrician (so to speak) in the Royal Engineers and gained various quals whilst in service.

I have been on here a couple of times to seek advice and followed it, but I have reached another stumbling block. I believe I would be best equipped with an ECS card to gain employment even on a temporary basis so I have been trying to get one. I have just done the Health and Safety multi guess test which I thought would be the last piece of the jigsaw.

After filling everything out on the site in 'MyECS' to apply for a card it seems that every option I select they say 'Your qualifications above do not support grading choice' even as low down as a Trainee level 2.

The quals I have are:
Level 3 2330, 2382, 2393 (Part P).

I want to work towards every other qualification but I can't do that sat at home, I need to be working in the industry to do things like NVQ portfolio, 2391 etc.

How am I supposed to get in with a firm to do these things if I can't get on site?

How do I get 'employer sponsorship' as a trainee if I don't have an employer (because I can't get on site). I totally understand that those 'fully qualified sparks' did apprenticeships fresh from school, but is that the only way? I chose to serve the forces and now it feels as if there's no opportunity to get the job I want (and have the knowledge to do).

Sorry for the long post,
Thanks in advance.

You won't get a graded card (electrician, approved electrician etc) due to lack of quals as you already know.