Discuss Fica / trade test. Fault diagnosis and rectification in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hi all I'm a new member to the site. I am a 4th year apprentice in Scotland who is going to sit his trade test soon and I was looking for some information regarding the fault diagnosis and rectification part of the assessment. I know there are only 4 faults that will be presented to me in the test but I was wondering if anyone knows if it is just a continuity Meter I will be issued with to find the faults. Can all dead faults be identified using a continuity Meter and if so how.

All feedback is greatly appreciated
Tony

Hi all I'm a new member to the site. I am a 4th year apprentice in Scotland who is going to sit his trade test soon and I was looking for some information regarding the fault diagnosis and rectification part of the assessment. I know there are only 4 faults that will be presented to me in the test but I was wondering if anyone knows if it is just a continuity Meter I will be issued with to find the faults. Can all dead faults be identified using a continuity Meter and if so how.

All feedback is greatly appreciated
Tony
Tony Hi
A Continuity meter? not sure what exam you are sitting or what you are testing, some more information would be benificial. Wil you be expected to do any dead testing IR, RFC continuity for example?

Last edited:
Hi Pete thanks for taking the time to comment. A mean a continuity Meter as in a basic set of test lamps that test continuity and buzz when continuity is present. It is a fault diagnosis and rectification assesment. The information I have been given states
"You will be required to diagnose and locate seven faults within the Fault Diagnosis booth.

These seven faults are set and have been selected from a range of common faults.