Discuss Finding a broken wire in the Security Alarms, Door Entry and CCTV (Public) area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hi all,

I have been installing CCTV camera for a few months. But right now, I have been placed on the service team... I am supposed to replace a 300 meters long cable for a faulty CCTV camera. Another member of the team has identified the fault to be the cable (one of the wire is cut somewhere apparently).
Instead of finding where it is damaged, they suggested replacing the cable entirely.
I am wondering if there's any way to locate the cut? I do not have any fancy tools (TDR for example). What other options do I have apart from physically looking at the cable? (I am thinking it might be broken inside the insulation from when it was pulled).
The fault report from my colleague says:
  • power to camera ok
  • cannot ping camera
  • replaced camera, still not working
  • toned and tested cable
  • line 4 defective on cable
  • tested joints on cable
(I have no idea what that last line means).

Hi all,

I have been installing CCTV camera for a few months. But right now, I have been placed on the service team... I am supposed to replace a 300 meters long cable for a faulty CCTV camera. Another member of the team has identified the fault to be the cable (one of the wire is cut somewhere apparently).
Instead of finding where it is damaged, they suggested replacing the cable entirely.
I am wondering if there's any way to locate the cut? I do not have any fancy tools (TDR for example). What other options do I have apart from physically looking at the cable? (I am thinking it might be broken inside the insulation from when it was pulled).
The fault report from my colleague says:
  • power to camera ok
  • cannot ping camera
  • replaced camera, still not working