• Welcome to the new forum. We're now hosted on ElectriciansForums.net rather than ElectriciansForums.co.uk - Chat about the forum upgrade by CLICKING HERE

Welcome to our Electrical Forum - We started out providing electrical advice just for the UK - But now we have specific advice for the USA too! - Register for free and share American Electrical Advice.

Discuss Fire alarm detectors-lighting in the Electrical Courses & Electrical NVQ's area at ElectriciansForums.net

gazdkw82

Trainee
Trainee Access
I'm getting rid of the 2 fire alarm detectors and putting some new mains powered ones.

I'm going to take it off the light fitting in the living room and landing. How's best to do this on a plastered ceiling? Work around the joists and get a t+e through? Might seem an easy question but I've never done a fire alarm detectors before.

On that note, any recommendations for a detector?

Pete999

Forum Mentor
Electrician's Arms
Trainee Access
I'm getting rid of the 2 fire alarm detectors and putting some new mains powered ones.

I'm going to take it off the light fitting in the living room and landing. How's best to do this on a plastered ceiling? Work around the joists and get a t+e through? Might seem an easy question but I've never done a fire alarm detectors before.

On that note, any recommendations for a detector?
Are you talking smoke / heat detectors Gaz? Can you not just come off the nearest light fitting? or is your intention to form a new circuit for these detectors?

Matthewd29

Regular EF Member
They won't be interconnected if you take it off 2 separate lights, you will require a 3core and earth between the detectors

Pete999

Forum Mentor
Electrician's Arms
Trainee Access
They won't be interconnected if you take it off 2 separate lights, you will requir a 3core and earth between the detectors
Yes I realise that, hence my question to Gaz.

gazdkw82

Trainee
Trainee Access
Domestic property. It's my house :)

I'm talking smoke detectors.