Discuss first post and dopey question in the Industrial Electrician Talk area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

P

pushrod

Hi all, newbie here. Have started a city & guilds 2330 course and yesterday thought i would put a little of it into practice. We have a switched 45amp cooker outlet and socket that shows signs of overheating so thought i would replace it with a new one. Went to b&q bought one, fitted it, after struggling for about 40 mins with short cables ( looked like they had been pulled after the previous one had been fitted :eek:). Anyway the question is - the neon indicators stay on all the time even when the outlet or cooker is switched off - is this right? Have never had neon indicators on switches before so don't know what they should do. If they should go out what could i have done wrong? Would have asked at college but it is half term.
thanks in anticipation

i think it all went wrong when you went to b & q and then even further downhill when you took it out the packet and now uve fiitted it i would say its in a ditch at the bottom of the hill on fire

as that is no help to you i would suggest you put the feed in the correct terminals and if your certain you already have then swap th econnections of the neon to the correct.................

Last edited by a moderator:
thanks for the replies, funny thing is i wired it up exactly as the old one was with browns (phase) to L and blues to N. There was no earth to the metal box so i also put an earth from the box (in sleeving) to the E on the back of the switch along with the 2 earth wires. Must have another look tomorrow and check that i did what i think i did :rolleyes: . Am i right in thinking that if i test it only the live (phase) side should be at approx 230V if the switch is in the off position.