Discuss gaining experience in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

J

Jason Arthur

hi, i am currently studying electrical engineering at college in scotland. what kind of domestic work am i allowed to do to gain experience? as im studying i am aware that i cannot charge people for the work, and i dont intend to. all i would like is the hands on experience of the job, to keep it fresh. i am aware of the corgi appliances and places like bathrooms i am not able to do, but am i allowed to fit light fitting, sockets and switches? do i need my work approved and signed off by a qualified electrician?

hi, i am currently studying electrical engineering at college in scotland. what kind of domestic work am i allowed to do to gain experience? as im studying i am aware that i cannot charge people for the work, and i dont intend to. all i would like is the hands on experience of the job, to keep it fresh. i am aware of the corgi appliances and places like bathrooms i am not able to do, but am i allowed to fit light fitting, sockets and switches? do i need my work approved and signed off by a qualified electrician?

Tell me, ...what's domestic electrical work got to do with ''Electrical Engineering''?? Hell's Bell's, ...talk about chalk and cheese!! lol!!!

I agree with E54. An electrical engineer would not be allowed to install work in site. Often they have little or no installation experience.
Some will, often they have gone through the apprentice, electrician, technician and then engineer route.
If you want to learn the skills of electrical installation, then do an apprenticeship alongside your college work.
At what level are you studying elec engineering? ONC?

Tell me, ...what's domestic electrical work got to do with ''Electrical Engineering''?? Hell's Bell's, ...talk about chalk and cheese!! lol!!!