Discuss getting part P, some questions in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi, im new to this forum so a big hello, and I hope someone can help...............

I try not to bamble on too much, but my background is that I was a spark improver after working as a electrician for agencies mostly for about 12 years; I have C&G 2360 Pts 1 & 2 qualifications. I stopped sparking about 6 years ago after an attempted career change :ack2: and taking an extended holiday abroad. Therefore im a bit out of the loop with all these new qualifcations. I have found a new lease of life and want to get back into electrical work, im considering starting up myself and so now need the Part P. My questions are.

1. Do you have to have a test & inspect qualification to register for part p, I realise that there is now other test & inspect quals other than the 2391, are these other courses (qualifications) sufficient for signing off my own installed work, can anyone recommend a provider ?(im based in London)

2. Would it be better (easier and more progressive) to complete the test & inspect course before or after the 17th edition course (which I also need to complete) ?

3. Do I need to go on a part p coarse atall, as im fairly competent in installation work (house bashing) ?

3. I realise a few Part P providers (Such as Nappit, NICEIC) only register NVQ3 qualified people; for my situation (having just C & G 2360 Pt's 1 &2) which would be the best provider to go for ?

4. If I enrolled on a course to complete my NVQ 3, could I add work to the portfolio that Im carrying out myself (assuming that by this time I was up and running as a part P installer).

Thanks in advance for any help

J

youm deffo need 17th. contact elecsa for the requirements and they'll send you all the details. oh, and make sure you can write a fat cheque.