Discuss Going it alone after a lifetime of working for the man! in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hi Team!

I am a 46 year old electrician and have always been a subbie.

The day my apprenticeship ended, I became self employed and have worked on industrial or commercial sites all over England, largely through agencies on a monkey see, monkey do basis.

Kind of "There's the cable, there's the tray, the motors are over there - get to it!" vibe. Have had an enjoyable time, made some decent money and met some great people.

However, would really fancy a change of direction and would like to calm down, stay local and get into the domestic game. I'm always turning work down as I do my thing in the week and don't want to fill my weekends with love jobs for locals...

Have asked this question to several sparks I know and have had several different answers so I thought I'd chuck it in here...

In Theory, Mrs Jones, down the road wants a new shower put in. Whole new circuit, etc... The same with Mr Jones who has had an extension done...

How do I certify and sign it off absolutely legally as a one man band?

I have no testing and inspection qualifications but can do it. I am sure I am competent to do the work, no problems there...

(And yes.... I've led a lazy life and am a disgrace to the trade, etc etc)

In Theory, Mrs Jones, down the road wants a new shower put in. Whole new circuit, etc... The same with Mr Jones who has had an extension done...

I have no testing and inspection qualifications but can do it. I am sure I am competent to do the work, no problems there... quote

first of all you need to be with a scam part p ,second test to see if correct and third insurance for the above .next .

Hi Team!