Discuss Going to Level 3 course skipping Level 2 in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi All,

Has anyone done 2365 Level 3 without doing Level 2 first?

I'm thinking of going to level 3 straight away. The reason why is that I have some experience being doing PAT Testing for nearly 10 years and providing domestic electrical work mainly minor ones and qualifications I achieved such as
17th & 18th Edition
Inspection & Testing 2391-52
Part P 2393-10
PAT Testing 2377
Domestic Electrical Installer course completed
I'm currently doing pat testing and domestic electrical work.

As I understand handful of units and topics in level 2 and what I've learned so far are overlapping. Few training centres provide this option they say I can go directly to level 3 in my situation where I need to pass an exam/assessment first.

I just want to know what's your thoughts on this. Will I miss a lot on level 2 in my situation? Is level 3 diploma on its own equally valid as having Level 2&3 Diplomas together from employer perspective?

I'm not looking for a shortcut scenario here and might consider taking both levels if that is the optimal way but time and money is another consideration at this moment in time. Just looking for most practical and reasonable solution.

Any advice is welcomed

One of the brighter 1st years jumped to the second year when I did the course, didn't see any jumps 2nd to 3rd year though. Hope you're good at electrical science though, bloody formulas!

I don't think missing the 2nd year would be any hindrance to you with your current experience being what it is, if anything I'm surprised you aren't skipping onto the AM2

I don't think missing the 2nd year would be any hindrance to you with your current experience being what it is, if anything I'm surprised you aren't skipping onto the AM2