Discuss Halogen downlighters in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

L

Lou Box

Hi everyone

I'm a total electrical noob (sorry if this thread is for the pros only but the DIY thread is closed) but am in need of some help!

My landlord, in his infinite wisdom, has installed halogen downlighters in every room in the house. I hate halogens. He's not going to change it himself but i was wondering if there was a way to change the halogens so that I can use a pendant light?
I'll probably only want pendants from a couple of the halogen points (there are six in my bedroom D:). I imagine this is totally impossible but if theres any way of making his happen I'd be over the moon. I obviously won't be doing anything myself for fear of exploding the house/myself.

Thanks ever so much

Lou

if you post your location, i'm sure there's a professional on here close to you can look at the job and advise accordingly.

I would suggest you get the landlords permission first, I also assume you had to put a month or two's rent in advance down which gets returned when you leave the premises at the end of your agreement. If this is the case and you get the lights changed he may keep the money to pay someone to put it back the way it was before you had the nerve to alter the existing installation.

I would suggest you get the landlords permission first, I also assume you had to put a month or two's rent in advance down which gets returned when you leave the premises at the end of your agreement. If this is the case and you get the lights changed he may keep the money to pay someone to put it back the way it was before you had the nerve to alter the existing installation.

You do have a way with words MDJ... makes me smile in admiration and fear