Discuss halogen lamp buzz on dimming in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Ilovelamp

DIY
Reaction score
Hi, I think I need to state that I'm a DIYer? I have A-level physics and tinker with vintage audio gear but I'm no professional electrician.

Looking for advice with my floorstanding dimmable lamp. It's roughly 30 years old. It has two bulbs, an adjustable reading light that is working fine, but is a bit too dim to use on its own. The other is at the top, facing upwards, a 300W halogen light. Both bulbs have separate dimmer controls. The trouble is that when I dim the main light, it seems to work fine as it always has done, but after a few minutes (unsure of the exact time) it starts buzzing when at any setting much below full power. The buzzing is similar to the sound it once made when an insect got in there and got fried, but this time I can see no intruder, and if that was the case surely it would buzz on full power.

I've tried a brand new bulb (original stock that came with the lamp) and the same thing happens. I know I should try to find an LED alternative to both sort this issue and lower the cost of powering it, but the ones I've tried don't work with the dimming at all - they are always on and don't dim much.

The bulb is something like a 17cm long tube, with a long plastic cover over it to protect from heat. I need to find out the model number again from my ebay purchases (for the LED bulbs) but for now maybe you guys know?

Many thanks in anticipation! (I rely on this thing in the evening to get the ambiance right)