Discuss Haverland Heater problem in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Martyn

-
Reaction score
Hi.

I'm not an electrician. I have two Haverland electric panel heaters (RC8DRY 1000w) that are not used very often as they are in a holiday home in Spain. They are a few years old and have worked perfectly until recently when they both developed the exact same problem at the same time. Too much of a coincidence for my liking.

Even though the heaters were bought in Spain, I cannot find an electrician that knows anything about them over here. Before I admit defeat and buy new ones, I just want to make sure that it's not something simple.

So, they both power up and show the current room temperature as they should. The digital display appears to work fine until I press the button to take it out of standby mode, it then goes really dim and almost unreadable. From there, no matter what mode I am in (auto or manual) there is no heat at all.

I have a multimeter and have tested the incoming power, internal transformer, glass fuse, switch and temperature sensor. I have checked the element for continuity (although wasn't sure if it should be removed to be tested?) and it seems ok.

I have tried to contact Haverland in the UK but never get a reply.

Any ideas?

Sometimes there are tiny batteries (button cells) on the PCB so that might be worth a second look?