Discuss Help & Advice needed - qualifications in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

New to the forum so just want to introduce myself and hopefully get some guidence from you guys. TIA for any advice given.

My situation, i'm a HND qualified electrical and electronics engineer which i have never done anything with in 8 years. I'll explain more later.

I'm currently a self employed builder. I also do an awful lot of wiring with a very good friend who is fully qualified and certified electrician. He prefers industrial work, but I've done multiple re-wires and additions with him over the years as his 'electricians hand'.

He's told me on many occassions now to get certified because I have a good basic understanding of domestic work and obviously a good general understanding of principles due to my HND. Im classed as a competent person on his NICEIC insurance.

From what I gather I have two options... a Domestic Installer - which is essentially what im capable of now and would be the easier cert for me to get however - i realise this is not popular amung actual electricians.

My other option is becoming fully qualified - what do i need to do? Is my HND useful / transferable towards anything? The only work experience i have with my HND is around 9 months of internships on 3 month periods during my studies.

I didnt continue to degree level or work in the industry due to many personal factors, but to keep things simple for this post, during that period of my life i just didnt pursue it.

Finally, i cant afford too big a drop in Salary whilst i train, ideally id like to continue doing what i do now whilst i train.

Any help and advice would be greafully recieved.

Cheers
Greg

Hi everyone,