Discuss HELP! Fire alarm problem, tiny fuses, much frustration! in the Security Alarms, Door Entry and CCTV (Public) area at ElectriciansForums.net

R

rocker

Hello all, hoping someone here can help me out with something that is really getting under my skin.

As part of some work ive done for a regular customer, I have installed 5 new smoke detectors to his existing system (he wants mto turn a big flat into bedsits). Now, I have limited experience with big fire alarm systems and try to avoid them as all they seem to do is cause ballache, but as it was just a few additions and I had a bit of fireproof knocking about, I thought I'd do it for him.

So, everything wired up, all lights flashing the way they are meant to, I simulate a fire, the detectors pick it up, but the bells in the zone I'm working on do not sound (the other 3 zones work fine). At the panel, I now have a fault warning. I trace that to a tiny fuse (which I'll come back to), replace the fuse, check connections, everything's fine, hit the 'sound alarm' test button, fuse goes again.

Now, as the lights on my detectors are flashing as they should, and the detectors are detecting smoke, AND as the fuse only goes when the bells are set off, as far as I can see this can't be something I've done.... but the guy says it was working before, and I have no reason to doubt him.

So does ANYONE have any ideas. As I said, I try and avoid alarm work at the best of times, and am not up to speed with the ins and outs of fire alarm systems.

ALSO does anyone know what kind of fuse I need - it's tiny, about 3mm long by 1mm wide, and it's square and rated 500mA.

ALLLSO doe sanyone know how the heck to do an insulation resistance test on a fire alarm system - I'm thinking if I hit it with 500v or 250v it's going to kill it. OH and why do I need to earth a 20v system?????

SO CONFUSED, any help would be appreciated.