Discuss Help for wiring an outdoor floodlight. in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hi I need some advice/help as complete Novice. I have just purchased a new build and on this i have an outside light that is powered by a switch indoors. However I would like to install a flood light above it using the power that is supplying the existing light. There is a power block on the existing light where the power cables feed into, and the cables from the light connect to this block on the opposite connectors. Next to the block where the power cables connect to, there is an empty slot next to each of the Live, Neutral and Earth connectors. Could i simply connect some 1.5mm 3 core from these to the flood light block connector?
As this is to be mounted outdoor a brick wall would i need to use some conduit? If so how could i make sure the connections are water proof?

Thanks in advance for any help someone is able to offer.

as long as you want the floodlight to work off the same switch anf it's notone with a PIR sensor, just extend the brown/ble and gn/Y from existibg light. use 0.75mm black flex (pond flex is good) secured with 7mm black clips.

There is a power block on the existing the power cables feed into, and the cables from the light connect to this block on the opposite connectors. Next to the block where the power cables connect to, there is an empty slot next to each of the Live, Neutral and Earthconnectors.

I'm still trying to decipher this

Thanks for the replies it does have pir motion sensor on it
then you need a permanent L and N. maybe from the existing light switch? best get a local sparks to sort it for you.