Discuss Help, Lighting Circuit in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

L

LeeJayyx

My client has asked for her kitchen lights to be re-wired, im an apprentice which has been made redundant so have my own minimal basic work coming in, however i assume i will have to rewire the whole circuit back to the CU, maybe leaving the drops in for the switches?! My concern is going to be getting to the board if i have no access from above. My other concern will be the route taken with the cable to the board as i would prefer not to chase into walls. As you can probably tell i have not yet viewed the property, however would like to have a bit better knowledge of how to go about the job once i interact with the customer. Would appreciate any of your guys tricks of the trade and how you may go about these jobs, thanks in advance, Lee.

Hi,
A bit more information would be useful, ie why does she want the lights re-wired and do you feel you are competent to do the work?
Answers may then be forthcoming.

Regards.

In my view, an apprentice should not be carrying out any kind of works unsupervised.

You have the name 'apprentice' because you are not yet trained in the industry... So being a member of a 'scheme' is irrelevant.

Others may disagree..

Not a member of a scheme but with my consider myself competent, Clive i've received very little detail of the job myself, im just very eager and all for the prep of how to go about this job to eliminate any problems early on

In my view, an apprentice should not be carrying out any kind of works unsupervised.

You have the name 'apprentice' because you are not yet trained in the industry... So being a member of a 'scheme' is irrelevant.

Others may disagree..

Hum, I'm going to disagree with you on this. He could be a 3rd year chap, far better equiped than a Electrical Trainee and could easily be a member of a scheme - unlike you.

Others may disagree..