Discuss Help needed for amateur with no clue in the DIY Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
This is probably going to be an easy answer but as the title states, I am new to this.

A simple problem but could anyone help tell me how to connect a new light to an old wiring circuit.

There are 3 cables and I know which one is the switch cable.

I have uploaded a couple of photos to show you what I’m dealig with.

Thanks in advance!

Help needed for amateur with no clue 62E45355-32AD-402C-AE37-7165090C9E61 - EletriciansForums.net

Help needed for amateur with no clue 0B3A8B09-9431-4186-A770-707325CB5F5F - EletriciansForums.net

all the reds go into a terminal block or wago, separate from the connections to the fitting. the 2 black neutrals go to N and the black fron the switch wire into L. those cpc's ( earths)need tidying upinto a connector, then a fly lead to the light into E.

Earths to earth terminal on light, neutrals to neutral terminal on light, switch live to 'L' terminal on light, permanent lives in connector together

Thank goodness that cpc hasn't been used as 3rd conductor...:eek:

Thank goodness that cpc hasn't been used as 3rd conductor...:eek:
I had that yesterday with someone’s attempt at floodlighting with PIR. They’d used the yellow (permanent live not sleeved or marked) of the 3 core and earth and hooked it up to the earth for the light. The neutral and switch live being correct. I used my voltage indicator to show 236v through the neutral and casing of the halogen floodlight.
Glad it was out of reach. Both floods were wired the same! Few other horrors but that got the prize!