Discuss Help ...Part L requirements and NAPIT inspector in the Certification NICEIC, NAPIT, Stroma, BECSA Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

P

piggyitm

Hi,pulling hair out here I hope someone can clear this up for me as I have the inspector coming from NAPIT to visit the install. To put it short, Existing building,existing extension,Extension had a fire,I rewire new feeds back to the board.Install 11 fire rated downlights 2 outside lights,1 floodlight 1 canterbury light in existing positions.I haven't allowed for Part L requirements as none are SGU10 lights.Am I going to get pulled up on this by the Inspector? I have had no experience with NAPIT so I' not sure what kind of things he will be looking for.Can I still expect to pass or shall I go and spend £100 on lights my self as i advised the customer what to get?

Any help ??? cheers

I would have thought (and my thoughts are a bit strange sometimes!) that you are replacing like for like and that part L would only apply if the extension was new or if it had an existing energy saving light fitted. If there were no energy savers fitted originally then you shouldn't have to fit them now.
That said i'm not with napit i'm with elecsa and elecsa have a technical helpline that i can ring with quieries, do you have a helpline with napit? if so, ring them before the visit and get their opinion (make a note of who you speak to just in case the site assessor has a different idea) that way you are covered. good luck

Cheers for that one 69er!!!!Minds at bit more at rest as I thought there was a reg saying that the installation should be left in no worse a condition than found.As in socket hights matching the existing hights rather than putting 1 odd one in at the new hight.I will be ringing NAPIT up in the morning to check.I'll post what they tell me.Nice one m8:)

Page 133 of The Guide to Building Regulations seems to cover it. (The section is about Part L1A & L1B)

it Says.........

10.6.1 Fixed internal lighting