Discuss help please - smeg 16kw oven in the DIY Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

kevineaton

-
DIY
Reaction score
hi guys, i hope you are well.

got a question - i want to buy a smeg SY92IPX8. im not an electrician.

the manual says that it has a nominal requirement of 16kw (!)

to me thats 66 ish amps. (16000/240) from P=IV

i cant get a circuit breaker for a household consumer unit that big, and the cable for a 70 amp connection is enormous.

i have a 40 amp circuit to my current oven, and clearly thats not enough,. when i asked smeg, they said the following:

"You will need to have an electrician calculate diversity into the rating calculation before fitting"

which to me means that as long as you dont turn everything on at once, you might not burn your house down

is this correct? if so, how would anyone put it in their house?

thanks in advance

Last edited:
Yeah, applying diversity is like applying common sense. Diversity works well when there's lots of items involved, for example if you go around your house and add up the current of every single electrical item it will probably come to considerably more current than you CU can supply. In real life you're never going to be running all these items simultaneously so you don't need a supply that's anywhere near that large.

Looking at the electrical specs I'd be tempted to connect it to your existing 32A supply. It will be possible to overload it if you run too many induction rings and the ovens simultaneously but for normal usage it will probably be fine. If you get frequent tripping problems you can always upgrade it to a 50A supply later.

thanks for that - but...what if i do use all the induction rings and ovens at once? i quite often use all 6 burners on my gas stove and the oven. the worst that can happen with gas is - well, they all dont work as hot as they should. with electrics, it could start a fire. that worries me.