Discuss Help Understanding EICR in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
I would greatly appreciate if someone could help me understand the following outcomes on an EICR. I am being advised it needs a total rewire but I am a layman.

The wiring is approx 30. Years old. 4 circuits, 2 x lights, one mains (incl kitchen), one for living room.

We will be renovating the ground floor of the property including the kitchen.

Observations
  • no RCD protection to any circuit (C2)
  • Damage to electrical wiring accessories (C2)
  • Burnt connections in the back of kitchen sockets (possible cause of overloading or loose connections) (C2)
  • immersion heater has been rewired on the same circuit as the sockets - risk of overloading (C2)
  • no CPC continuity to circuit 2 ring main (F1)
  • unable to locate water bonding (F1)
  • no smoke alarms (C3)
  • no surge protection fitted to consumer unit (C3)

The sections of the report on the EICR as C2 are

Thank you

Can you post the whole report here, but remove the name of the company that did the inspection?
There's a best-practise guide from electrical safety first called best practise guide 4 that is worth you acquiring.

Generally wiring from 30 years ago would normally be in serviceable condition. The full report should help us gain a better picture. The reasons for requiring a rewire are usually
a) dangerous wiring that is at end of life or has been damaged. Some of the tests on the report will help determine this
b) not enough points in the right places or not enough circuits to cope with modern demands
c) revonations are happening and it's a good opportunity

Quick thoughts about the other items:
  • no RCD protection to any circuit (C2) See Best Practise Guide 4
  • Damage to electrical wiring accessories (C2) Not expensive to replace