Discuss Help with socket alteration.. in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

B

barcaloco

Hello, let me start by saying I have very little experience in dealing with electrics and I don't plan to mess about with any cables etc, just looking for advice to plan ahead.

I wanted to install a new eco friendly heating panel that needs to be hard wired, I have a double socket I was hoping to convert to an fcu and a single socket with a double back box.

The socket has 2 live, 2 neutral and one earth, could this be wired to two single units without ripping the place apart to feed a new earth??
Any advice would be appreciated.

First off you would need a dual box not a double and second a spark wouldn't charge the earth to do it for you. :)

I'm guessing the one earth is because someone has twisted them together and slung them in the same sleeving? if thats not the case then you definitley need a sparks in to take a look buddy.

Yeah convert the double into a single, then the FCU next to it can be spurred from the single.

- - - Updated - - -

i knew by writing an essay by the time i'd clicked reply then people would of beat me to it lol damn you lot :laugh3:

I wanted to install a new eco friendly heating panel

If you haven't bought it already you may want to hold on as there is no such thing as an 'eco' heating panel. They're all the same in terms of efficiency but some use clever marketing to make you think they're magic and charge the earth for them.

Intelligent/ programming is a different thing but you're probably better off buying a oil filled radiator and saving yourself some cash and a potential trip to A&E

The socket has 2 live, 2 neutral and one earth, could this be wired to two single units without ripping the place apart to feed a new earth??