Discuss Help with SP motor please in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

R

radiohead

I'd really appreciate some help with a single phase motor driving a mixing machine. Firstly let me state now I have little experience of motors but am trying to help out a client. The mixer mechanics were fully serviced by others with new bearings and runs smoothly. Before being serviced the 125 mf cap had burnt out, and after the service I was asked to replace the cap like for like to get it running. It burnt out again. A second new cap is clearly going the same way.
Question is are the caps wired correctly,(it's an old motor and has clearly been messed with) and if so what other reason might be the cause?
I have included a pic of the motor plate and a diagram of how the 80 and 125mf caps are currently connected.
Thanks in advance for any assistance.
Help with SP motor please IMG_1475.JPG - EletriciansForums.netHelp with SP motor please IMG_1476.JPG - EletriciansForums.net

From the sizes that is the start capacitor and one of the most common causes of failure is the start sequence not disconnecting quick enough over a period of time.

Ok, I attempted to work out how the existing connections were configured but the connection box was a rats nest. So I disconnected the whole lot, traced the start and run windings along with the centrifugal switch and reconnected, which was scary with my limited motor experience. It now starts and runs without the start cap cooking. So it must have been wrongly connected, I wonder whether the start cap was not connected through the centrifugal switch? Would that cause the cap to cook?