Discuss Hi I am new to this forum, seeking advice before hiring an electrician. in the DIY Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

G

grahamc

Hi, I am not an electrician and need some professional advice before hiring one to undertake and certify the work. I think I have gathered all the information, all be it long winded, sorry in advance.

We are having a home office installed in our garden that comes with all the electrics pre install, 3 double sockets, LED lighting all connected to a MCB consumer unit. We will be running a 4kw portable air con/heater, two computers and a printer in the office.

The house is 16 years and the consumer unit is a MCB type 6 MCBs with the kitchen and detached garage protected by a RCD. The problem we have is, that the consumer unit is full and also on the wrong side of the house. It would mean having a new consumer unit fitted which is ok, but a huge cost digging up all the drive and slabs to lay a cable to the office, because it cannot be elevated.

Now the question! Our detached garage is powered from the final circuit ie the kitchen one with a 10mm buried armoured cable to a MCB consumer unit in the garage. Is it ok to run a buried armoured cable from the garage consumer unit to the new office consumer unit?

Sorry it is so long winded as I am trying to add as much information as I can. Looking forward to your suggestions.

Maybe its just me but I don't quite understand your current set-up.
Are you saying that you have 2 consumer units un your house. One 6 way, with MCB's and another that has an RCD that has 2 MCB's that wire to your kitchen & detached garage? You say that "Our detached garage is powered from the final circuit ie the kitchen one" What do you mean by this? Is the detached garage wired to the kitchen ring?
What is the earthing arrangement of the system?
Can you take some picks and post them of the set-up.