Discuss High earth loop readings in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

D

duxter121

Hope someone can help, I am an industrial biased electrician & a friend has asked me to check an outside tap on one of his houses where the tennant keeps getting a belt off the tap, the loop test at the board shown up 17.8ohms & was registered as dangerous on the tester (A Metrel tester)...
The supply I think...is a TT system or a TN-S, not got a regs book with me & not 100% on supply systems (which i'm reading up on now)..bad I know
Anyway, there is 2 cables run down the outside of the house & what looks like the earth is tapped off the neutral about 1 METER before the cut-out & disappears down the wall & under the decking....I do know that he had a dodgy spark do some work on it for him years ago & I have done some reading up on possibilities of what it could be & the only one I can think is that they may have used the other services, gas & water to bond the house
There is no earth at the cut-out or electric meter....

Some photos might help if you can attach a few. If you're not familiar with earthing arrangements then you may be well to seek assistance from someone who is.

Didnt get chance to take any at the time, but think it desperately needs looking at, I work away a lot & havent really got time to look at it, thanks for the reply my good man..!!

Have you checked with the DNO to see if they have a record of what the earthing system is, it could be a TT in which case 17.8 ohms acceptable

You need to ID the earthing arrangement at 17.8 ohms on a TT is acceptable.

However the issue re the water pipe being live needs urgent attention!

IMO your friend needs to call out a spark who can investigate any issues that the dodgy !!!!!spark!!! has left and make them safe ASAP.

Welcome to the forum!!