Discuss Hot tub electric shock in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi I'm looking for some advice, yesterday when exiting my hot tub I felt a slight electric shock when my foot made contact with the ground around the hot tub. I work as a cable jointer so a tingle is second nature to me so I double checked when in contact with ground and water I can feel a slight tingle in my fingers when isolated from ground I feel nothing. Today I put my multimeter onto a nearby earth terminal and probed the water to get a reading of 0.2volts. Im on a pme supply and have a cable running from a rcd to a isolated and then a feed to the tub. Any idea where this voltage could be coming from? And if installing a seperate earthing point with rods would solve the issue? Thankyou

Probably PME and true earth voltage difference, due to voltage drop on PEN conductor,

I for one would not use a PME earth for a hot tube surrounded by true earth, due to the shock risks that occur with a broken PEN / CNE conductor, although as a jointer you probably have an idea of how common broken CNE conductors are and if the DNO install enough PME earth electrodes to reduce voltages on CNE if broken

Having a separate TT earthing system for the hot tube in most cases would solve the issue

Did you measure from the water to a spike in to the ground by the tub?

I doubt you would feel 0.2V even if wet, but that would be typical for volts around the CPC (earth) wiring in a home. However, you can easily get a few volts on PEN to true Earth just from normal currents and that would be noticeable if wet.

As above, easiest option is to make the tub supply TT and have the related earth rod in the general location of the tub.

Probably PME and true earth voltage difference, due to voltage drop on PEN conductor,