Discuss How comfortable should I be with my DIY wiring? in the DIY Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
I've added some soffit lights (upstairs and downstairs), and I've added a fused spur in my back room.

It all works and, to the best of my ability, it's as safe as possible - but (simply put) I'm not an electrician.

I've been regularly consulting a mate of mine for bits I'm confused about so I was happy with it but growing increasingly paranoid since it's not been done by a professional. I'm considering getting it certified, but that led me to thinking (for people who aren't qualified) what exactly should we be comfortable with doing our own wiring around the home? Maybe it should all be done professionally, but then does that mean a call-out for even swapping a light fitting or moving a ceiling rose? Where should I draw the line?

Just to be clear, my first priority is safety. I've tried to cover all bases, but it doesn't have a cert and there might be some regs I'm in breach of for things I'm not aware of.

Open to any criticism/opinion here - had some great advice from you guys in the know in previous threads.

Reactions: DPG
It is not a black and white situation all the time.

some people have the skills required to do a DIY job better than some profesionals and others do such a poor job, it can be surprising that the person in question still has a heart beat.

Bottom line, stay well within your own comfort zone with regards to the jobs you undertake with the skills that you have.

the most important and often overlooked thing is the earthing of circuits, especially where there are exposed metal surfaces. think metal light fittings and chrome light switches etc.

the most common DIY question posted on here is along the lines of,

I have changed my light fitting or my light switch and now the downstairs lights wont come on,

or I have removed the old ceiling rose, intending to put up this nice ikea fitting.