Discuss How difficult is electrical engineering HNC? in the Electrician Courses : Electrical Quals area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi everyone, I am a nearly fully qualified electrician (waiting on AM2S in March) qualified to level 3 electrotechnical 2357. Once qualified I am looking to continue learning in order to progress my career into automation, controls and electrical engineering. I would like to do the HNC, just wondering if anyone on here could give me some advice about the HNC; how does the maths compare to the principles in the level 3 ? Also would you recommend doing the HNC (looking to get out of general sparkying)
Thanks in advance guys

That's a very difficult question to answer as it totally depends on your academic abilities. Which is different for everyone.

I taught it at college for a short time (actually hated the job so left!) And there were some that found it easy - just the next step and others (who were actually awesome in the practical side of things) - who couldn't understand it.

In general, anyone "into electrics" has enough interest to learn and follow the electrical side of the course, but the biggest stumbling block is the maths.

In the C&G stuff the maths is merely basic such as addition, subtraction, multiplication etc.

In hnc you will need calculus, complex numbers, and trigonometry.

Whilst these aren't difficult it is a change from what you will be used to.

There is a good book called Engineering Mathematics by Ken Stroud , find a copy of this (older versions or pdf are fine) and see if you can follow it.

This is what you will be learning in the maths part of hnc.

You will need the complex numbers and trig for the electrical aspects, and occasionally the more simple examples of calculus.