Discuss How do i calculate missing resistance readings in a parallel circuit using R1 and Rt in the Electrical Engineering Chat area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi

I am a current student studying to become an electrician and a question has thrown me. I'm wondering if someone could help, there is a question on one of my home work books. "complete the following table assuming the resistors are connected in parallel?" the example I will give is R1 is 120 ohms R2 ? R3? and Rt is 48 ohms. How would I calculate the missing R2 and R3 readings with no voltage or current to complete the table?

I have spoken to my tutor but I believe there was some miscommunication and got an answer which was relating to another topic. I don't want the answer I would just like to know the formula to help proceed with this if someone could help that would be great.

I understand 1/Rt = (1/R1) + (1/R2) + (1/R3).

The problem is that if you have 2 unknowns (R2 and R3), there can be a very large number of possibilities.

What answer did your tutor give you?
[automerge]1585942820[/automerge]
I should add... perhaps message @Dan about getting access to the trainee only area... only trainee's and mentors (and staff) can post in there and there is a lot of useful info :)

I did not receive an answer from my tutor. if I give another example there are 3 resistors R1 R2 and R3 and Rt . R1 40 ohms R2 ? R3 20ohms and Rt is 10 ohms? what formula would I use to calculate the missing resistance reading?

The problem is that if you have 2 unknowns (R2 and R3), there can be a very large number of possibilities.

What answer did your tutor give you?

I'm no maths whizz by any means, but surely the only way that question can be answered accurately is if R2 and R3 are known to be equal, or some other predetermined relationship between them ?

@MikeGawan ,