Discuss How do I get into project management? in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hi all, I’m a first year apprentice.

I already have an idea of what I want to do with my career, I want to complete my apprenticeship and then move into project management? I was looking at completing the C&G 2369 electrical design course, once I’ve finished this apprenticeship. Will this help me get closer to becoming a project manager? My overall goal would be to start my own company, and manage my own jobs and hire people to do them for me.

Can anyone give me some advice?

Thanks

Good to have aims and goals and know where you want to go, but learn to walk before you run!
Getting a job with a large company where they have specific project engineers dept. will help and climb the ladder from within.
Somewhat mirrors my path as tried to get into project management too but it didn't work out and jumped to the next phase, (ie starting own business) which now been over 35 years is seen as a success!

There are courses on project management that will help too.

Good to have aims and goals and know where you want to go, but learn to walk before you run!
Getting a job with a large company where they have specific project engineers dept. will help and climb the ladder from within.
Somewhat mirrors my path as tried to get into project management too but it didn't work out and jumped to the next phase, (ie starting own business) which now been over 35 years is seen as a success!

There are courses on project management that will help