Discuss How to: Accurately quantity survey commercial/industrial works? in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hello everyone, I've been an electrician for some time now & have worked in B.M.S, commercial, industrial & domestic environments at some level or another over the years. I am once again self employed (which I do prefer due to the earning potential) & expect to bag a significant job late next year. I am used to pricing my own work, not on the scale of this job however, a 20,000 sq ft commercial unit.
I know there is pricing software available now days, but would prefer the more traditional way of costing. (still open to advice on this though)
How for example would you go about pricing different containment & wiring systems, D.B's, fire alarms & so on. I have obviously developed my own pricing structure over time which has served me well enough, but feel I need the input of others here to give me assurance that my cost will be as accurate as possible.
Many thanks C.B

Hi Craig welcome to the forum.

A 20,000 sq ft warehouse doesn't justify the expence of software for pricing in my opinion.

Tape measure pen paper calculator and as much input from end user. Several meatings if nessissary to get it right.

List of materials with a few scetches to help, add an extra 10% of materials needed. Work out cost of materials add another 20% to that to cover unexpected future damages and faulty goods.

Work out how many days labour with a labourer. Both on ful day rate. Add en extra couple of days just in case.

Add together.

Done.

I wonder sometimes how company’s actually can price the biggies.
We all know it not as simple as it seems.
Usually there’s a plan of works,other trades are on site,giving a sparky so many weeks.