Discuss How to determine the RCD rating in order to comply with 411.4.204 in the Electrician Courses : Electrical Quals area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hey guys. I am currently studying for 2396 city and guild electrical design exam and I'm stuck on this question. Its asks to determine the residual current rating of an RCD in order to comply with regulation 411.4.204. The circuit in question is a final ring circuit protected by a 20a type C circuit breaker, with a Zs value of 1.69 ohms. Looking at table 41.5, is a 500a RCD required since the Zs value does not exceed 100oms? Thanks for all the help.

Understanding what they are giving you will help you understand the answer to the question. Regulation 411.4.204 states where an RCD is used to satisfy the other quoted Regulations this should tell you that without the RCD the the other quoted Regulations are not satisfied, the Zs given and the type C, 20A device should tell you this. You say Table 41.3 gives a maximum value of 1.09 but you have been given 1.69 so what are the possible consequences should a fault occur.

Understanding what they are giving you will help you understand the answer to the question. Regulation 411.4.204 states where an RCD is used to satisfy the other quoted Regulations this should tell you that without the RCD the the other quoted Regulations are not satisfied, the Zs given and the type C, 20A device should tell you this. You say Table 41.3 gives a maximum value of 1.09 but you have been given 1.69 so what are the possible consequences should a fault occur.
One consequence would the protective will not operate in the required time (0.4 seconds)

One consequence would the protective will not operate in the required time (0.4 seconds)