Discuss How to legally work as self employed Electrician. in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hi guys

I have been a qualified electrician for over 10 years working for others and now im trying to transision into to starting my own electrical installation / maintenance company. I'm a little confused as to what is required before I can legally work in other peoples properties.

I thought I needed

1. Registration with governing body
2. Liabilty insurance

I have been looking at becoming a member with the NiCEIC but the confusing part is they want to see my work to assess.

I dont understand How to do this if I need to be a member before I can work in other peoples property?

I imagine it's really simple but not sure the best route to take

Please can someone help me plan a route

Thanks in advance for any advice / guidance

If you search there are numerous other thread about this.

Basically apply to scheme, do your jobs and certificate and then get the scheme to assess you. Once registered notify Building Control of works. At least that’s how I think you do it in Englan/Wales.

If you search there are numerous other thread about this.

Basically apply to scheme, do your jobs and certificate and then get the scheme to assess you. Once registered notify Building Control of works. At least that’s how I think you do it in Englan/Wales.

Thanks for your input Richy

By scheme do you mean like NICEIC?

Is it legal to work if not a member of a scheme?

I will also check the forum for similar posts

Thanks for your input Richy

By scheme do you mean like NICEIC?

Is it legal to work if not a member of a scheme?

I will also check the forum for similar posts

It would be expensive if you are doing notifiable work.

It would be expensive if you are doing notifiable work.