Electrical2Go - Online Electrical Supplier
This official sponsor may provide discounts for members
Advertisement - Content continues below

Discuss How to retrain as a cable jointer?? in the Commercial Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

M

markthespark

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:  American Electrical Advice Forum

Hi i am currently working as an electrician i have been doing it for about 4 years now and im fed up and need a change i have always been interested in the electricity distribution network and cable jointing.

I was wondering how i would go about retraining as a LV cable jointer?

I have seen various courses on the internet for about 6 grand but i dont want to pay all that money and they not be able to get a job because i dont have any experience.

Also i dont want to be classed as a bog standard apprentice on rice and bread per hour as i couldnt really afford much of a pay cut.

Does anyone have experience of jointing on here? I would be interested to know what you thought of it and the downsides and benefits?

Cheers

I dont know anything about cable jointers, but couldn't you loose a day a week as an electrician for a cable jointer, and slowly go into that skill, then 2 days, 3 days, then full time etc

M

markthespark

• Thread Starter Thread Starter
Hi thanks for the reply, yeah thats what id like to do, buts its finding a company who will let me do that, im willing to pay for my training i just need some part time onsite experience to become competant.

Most firms that carryout cable jointing are REC's and large utility companys who arnt really interested.

M

mark111