Discuss How to test continuity in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Please can you help a complete novice.
I have a light fitting with three clear wires. No colours, textures or codes. I’m trying to establish the L, N wires.
I have a digital multimeter (see pics)
Can someone tell me what to do step by step in layman’s term please?
Which ohm do I set it at?
Where do I attach the red and black prongs?
Please Help!!
Many Thanks in advance :)

image.jpg

Is it bayonet cap or edison screw ? Hold one probe against the earthed metal casing whilst testing against the 3 clear wires until you get a low ohm reading to identify the earth .

If bayonet cap polarity does not matter .

If edison screw repeat step one with the middle prong inside the lamp holder . This must be the Live connection .

If you do not understand any of this it would be advisable to use a professional .

For convenience, use the continuity setting O))) which will beep when contact is made. To check that the connection is solid, use the 200Ω range. A good connection will indicate a resistance within a few tenths of an ohm of the reading you get with the probes touching together.

Is it bayonet cap or edison screw ? Hold one probe against the earthed metal casing whilst testing against the 3 clear wires until you get a low ohm reading to identify the earth .

If bayonet cap polarity does not matter .

If edison screw repeat step one with the middle prong inside the lamp holder . This must be the Live connection .

If you do not understand any of this it would be advisable to use a professional .
Thank you so much!
It’s screw fittings.
I inserted black probe into screw fitting.
My readings are 0.00
And no reading
(Please see new pic)

So is the 0.03 reading the earth?
Which is Live?
Thank you so much!!!!

030DBDB3-C3D7-4762-99B0-72B5A86ACF66.jpeg
[automerge]1570538625[/automerge]