Discuss Howdy Y'all? in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

A

angrywelshman

Hi all,
I'm a redudant electrician in Chepstow and so far no luck on getting any jobs locally either. I've been working as an electrician for about two years and I'm too old to start an apprentice course. So I say to hell with the lot of them and decided to go self employed. Trouble is I need a 17th edition update course and any advice on getting part p etc.If anybody knows of a course provider in the Cardiff area at a decent price that would be a start. I already have 16th Edition and 2391. I've also done a domestic install course and got the ETMA Applicable building regs certificate. So what else do I need to get?
I'm knowledgable as a designer, installer and inspector. I've been working to the 17th regs since they were released and most of the installers I've worked with don't have a clue. The installers, around here at least, don't install to the new regs (new bathroom and socket circuits without RCD's is very common). So as far as going on my own, so far its been easy. The competition is cutting down on their quotes by installing to 16th Edition standards, either that or they just don't know any better.
So I find myself trawling the internet looking and applying for jobs with little or no responses. Hence the self employed route. Any advice and tips would be great. I'm looking to register with NICEIC or equivalent company to get myself going.
A pleasure to join you guys.

hello and welcome.....try to be a calm welshman

Howdy Y'all? whistling2[1] - EletriciansForums.net

Are all welshmen angry? Possibly. I just thought it sounds cooler than the happy welshman, or the non-commital welshman. Heres a video I made of what I used to do: YouTube - Minigun (M134) AEF