Discuss I am thinking of becoming self-employed, any advice/help/warnings would be greatly appreciated! in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hello everyone I am new to this forum so ease me in gently!!!

I often found myself coming across this forum when I was seeking help or advice towards queries I had.

I am an Approved Electrician with 8 years experience across domestic, industrial, commercial and medical locations. I am often doing jobs on a night time or on a weekend and I feel it maybe time to take the plunge into self-employment and setting up on my own.

I am not naive enough to know it will be easy and a roaring success- hence why I am here. Any sort of heads up or advice that people have would be greatly appreciated or what I should be aware of by doing this sort of transaction.

Any help would be appreciated!!! Thank you!

If I were starting up a new brand today I would 100% invest in a well produced YouTube channel.
Lots of tool reviews and loads of DIY advice clips.

you can be the best sparks going, but if you're not a ruthless businessman and a good organiser of finances/tax/etc., you'll fail. still, if you can handle the non-payers, nutty customers that change their minds half way through a job, scammers that want a big % of your earnings (useless advertising, joblead suppliers, etc.), other trades that just want to sabotage your work: go for it.

As above...

You can be a bang average sparks but good at business then you will be just fine

You can be a great sparks but awful at business then you will fail

It took me probably 3 years to get my pricing right , initially I didn't bother checking what other local sparks were charging. I just went with a flat rate of £20 per hour.
Once I found out what they were charging I suddenly realised i was about half the price of my rival sparks.
At that time in my area most sparks were nearer £40-60 per hour.