Discuss I have a HNC in electrical engineering and I would like to become a qualified electrician. in the Electrician Courses : Electrical Quals area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi Guys,

I have spent the majority of my adult life trying to secure an apprenticeship as an electrician, this has been a very hard journey but I have not given up, I have gone as far as putting myself through a HNC in electrical engineering passing my graded unit with an A in the hopes that this would help me secure an adult apprenticeship although this has not been the case. I currently work as a Multi Skilled engineer in the commercial maintenance sector. I suppose what I am asking is for some advice or even help to achieve my lifelong goal.

Hi Guys,

I have spent the majority of my adult life trying to secure an apprenticeship as an electrician, this has been a very hard journey but I have not given up, I have gone as far as putting myself through a HNC in electrical engineering passing my graded unit with an A in the hopes that this would help me secure an adult apprenticeship although this has not been the case. I currently work as a Multi Skilled engineer in the commercial maintenance sector. I suppose what I am asking is for some advice or even help to achieve my lifelong goal.
Someone recently was on the forum from Aberdeen, he had an Hnc as well. So i am thinking you might be worth looking South of the Border to get qualified. Granted that its not going to be the sjib recommended / Only method of Apprenticeship But has been done. To get some hands on experience and finish Nvq youd need to be working as an electrial labourer/mate.

I agree, you may be better finding someone who will take you as a labourer or trainee without the title of apprenticeship. You should be able to use the practical experience for your NVQ. Might seem crazy but there are plenty of Electrical Tiktok accounts. A relatively easy way to contact some local to you maybe. Don't give up.