• IMPORTANT: Please note that nobody on this forum should be seeking from or providing advice to those who are not competent and / or trained and qualified in their field (local laws permitting). There is a discussion thread on this global industry-wide matter HERE. This also has more information about the warning with regards to sharing electrical advice in some countries. By using this forum you do so in agreement to this.

Discuss I was informed K20 engines went forever, but I didn't have this in mind! in the Auto Electrician Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hi guys.

New here and after some advice due to an issue that has me stumped. I'm far from an auto electrician so any advice or even criticism is appreciated.

Car - 2002 Honda Civic Type R
Fault - Engine doesn't turn off.
(Likely) Cause - Jump started after flat battery.

As stated above after a jump start my cars engine no longer wishes to turn off by key. No fuses had been blown. Original thought was an ignition switch fault but even with the connectors pulled car continues to run. Next thought was potential alternator backfeed, again this was unplugged and the issue remains. Main ignition relay was also swapped out and made no difference.

Car runs ok, no EML or other symptoms. I've been getting the engine and ignition to go off by parking up and removing the key from the ignition. Then drop the glove box and remove the main ignition relay. The relay only needs to be removed for a split second and can be put back in. Ignition stays off. Not ideal every time I need to use the car but it's worked for now.