Discuss Incorrect wireing install ??? in the Solar PV Forum | Solar Panels Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

E

Equity

After 2 yrs of a PV install ,no change on the electricity bill,so I had a look at the set up.
The installer has cut the wires between the incoming fuse and mains meter and connected a Henly block.The PV is connected to the Henly block,Ie incoming mains supply of the electric board meter.
I am no expert but surely this means any power generated goes directly back to the grid and not to me.
Needless to say the install company hs now folded,any ideas where I stand?
If I am correct its a simple 10 min job to rewire,but 2 yrs with no gain.

will try to put one on.
Where do we stand with all these companies going under .Feel sorry for the poor workforce,taken on in the good times then dumped when the tarrif dropped.
My Aurora inverter has a ten yr guarrantee ...but with who now?
Is there any protective body I can seek help or advice from ?

The power generated comes to you, BUT it passes through your meter so you get charged for it.

The Grid gains at your expense.

How come it took you 2 years to notice no reduction in your bill?

Hang on....are you saying I have been paying for the 7800 KWH generated over the past two yrs on top of my normal bill ???? ..no way ...
Does it not just go back to the grid?

Hang on....are you saying I have been paying for the 7800 KWH generated over the past two yrs on top of my normal bill ???? ..no way ...
Does it not just go back to the grid?
you've been paying for everything you use even if you've generated it yourself.

we had this happen with one installation that we caught after a few months, fixed and paid compensation for. I'm still baffled about how it can happen, as nobody should be touching the cables between the meter and the suppliers fuse end of.

Just look on the bright side, you still have 23 years on the high tarrif and now that you have realised you will save more....