Discuss industrial roller shutter door. in the Australia area at ElectriciansForums.net

R

Robo

A friend of mine has a 3phase roller door. Under normal circumstances you press the up button and it opens and continues to go up untill the limiter switch kicks in. When it comes down you have to press and hold the down button. I guess this is for safety reasons.

The up button has stopped working but the down button works fine. If you remove the cover and press the contactor buttons you can press and hold it and the door opens and likewise going down. However the up button and down buttons seem to work back to front.(the contactor which i assumed would open actually closes and vice versa.

I went upto the motor and looked at the limiter switch. I tested continuity through the switch to see if it worked and it did.

I have no experience with these doors tbh and im a little baffled and hate being beaten

Does any1 have a simple guide to help me understand the problem and to identfy a faulty part.

Thanks Robo

have you checked the up button and it's cables for continuity ?

the up circuit usually has a few open circuit situations that will stop it working, first the limit switch when the door has reach its full open extent and also its probably run through a normally closed contact on the close relay so if door is closing it wont allow you to activate open. firstly check limit sw then check that you get fully open signal from relay down the cables to controls... disconnect from controls so as to eliminate false readings... then check n/c contact on close door contactor that it is opening and closing as you push the contactor in and out.....

Note all these test are done without power.

ps also check the stop button if physical only no wires is making contact with stop button on contactors, its a bad habit to get into physically pushing contactors in as you over-ride any safety functions which in other situations may cause serious damage.

Last edited: