Discuss Installing socket, newbee in the DIY Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

handyn14

DIY
Reaction score
Afternoon.

I’m wanting to install a socket into a kitchen for a washing machine and have been quoted £220 which I think is ridiculous. I’m hoping someone here can help me and guide me on the install. There is a boiler near with this fused switch in below image, I’m wondering if I can tap into this and install a single/double socket. I’m totally new to this and never done this before, I understand I need to switch electric off from fuse board etc, Iv had a look and it is rcd protected.4E5EE203-1A88-49BE-927F-2E0B65EA91CC.jpeg

TL;DR
How to install socket
Last edited by a moderator:
You would have to ascertain how the boiler switch is supplied already….

Is it a radial circuit or spurred off ring somewhere? (Or lighting, but that shouldn’t happen)

What size cable supplies the boiler switch?

What size mcb supplies this cable at consumer unit?

Is this circuit rcd protected?

There is much more to think about than simply “can I use this?”
Where about in UK are you? ( first half of postcode)
A forum member may be nearby that can visit and advise for much less than £220….
Although, depending on the amount of work required to do it, 220 isn’t a huge amount.

Couple of other 'interesting' points in that pic that could do with checking over by a knowledgeable eye - two pipe bonding clamps with no wires connected to them, and what looks like part of a cable gland lying on a timber cross piece.

Reply to Installing socket, newbee in the DIY Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

Similar Threads

DIY'er question: I have a singe switched fused spur above my kitchen counter, providing power to an undercounter fridge socket beneath it. The...
Replies
Views
Evening all, I’m looking to install an outside light as a spur from a socket on a ring main. There is already a spur from this socket supplying...
Replies
Views