Discuss Installing sockets for a friend in the Industrial Electrician Talk area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

D

Dan morris

Hi I'm very new to electrical work I'm doing my level 2 electrical installation at college and my friend that's just got a new unit has asked if I could put some sockets in for him. I was wondering if this is as simple as I would do at college I.e. Ive done it all on the mdf boards etc at college but what is it like in practice. He basically wants 6 double sockets. Now
I know how to do the circuit side of things but I don't really know how to apply it to the distribution board, would the neutral and earth join up with the others and then the line would go into one of the fuses, would this most likely already be installed so would it be a case of opening it up and just wiring it up how I would do at college or would new ones need to be attached. Also if anyone could let me the type of cable/ sockets and if I would need conduit etc as well that would be a massive help if possible it's just on like a breeze block wall around his unit. If no one recommends it then I won't do it but if I can apply what I've learnt at college I would like to give it ago.
Any advice would be apreciated.
Thanks dan

Don't want to sound negative but from what you are saying you do not have sufficient knowledge to undertake this task. Are you in the electrical industry outside of college.

Last edited:
Hi Dan and welcome to the forum.
Depending on exactly what is to be done, the work may need notification to the local building control, as it may be notifiable building works under part P of the building regulations. A qualified Electrician can do that but your work won't be accepted by them yet.