Discuss Insulation resistance help in the Periodic Inspection Reporting & Certification area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
I'm still a newbie but here goes.
as part of my Elecsa assessment I have changed the outlaws 1970's Fuse board to a new 17th edition cu.
the wiring is still original as well. Due to equipment that I cannot get to or remove I bridged the line to cpc and tested between that and neutral. On all the circuits results were between 230 to 1200 M ohms.
is this still a pass and what would be expected of 40yr old cable or am I doing something wrong.

Why not link L and N and carry out an IR test @240v between LN to E.

I'm still a newbie but here goes.
as part of my Elecsa assessment I have changed the outlaws 1970's Fuse board to a new 17th edition cu.
the wiring is still original as well. Due to equipment that I cannot get to or remove I bridged the line to cpc and tested between that and neutral. On all the circuits results were between 230 to 1200 M ohms.
is this still a pass and what would be expected of 40yr old cable or am I doing something wrong.

so you still managed to bang 500V d.c. across L and N.

If the results are in M ohms then there's not an issue.

You should buy, read and understand GN3 for guidance on what readings you should expect when testing.

I do have GN3, however when I done my course everything was new and readings were always >2000 M ohms,

I'm just asking if these readings are about right for old wiring and when inspected by Elecsa will they allow the results.

230M ohms is good for old wiring , but tell me what test equipment are you using to get 1200M ohms , i use Robin/fluke and I get max of 500M ohms only , over that is infinity ..

Sorry for the typo. I joined the line to neutral bar and tested between line/ neutral and cpc.

My kt65 measures I'm M ohms so 230 was in M ohms

What does BS 7671:2008 (2013) or BS 7671:2008 (2015) say on the matter? That is your answer.