Discuss Intro: Old School Technician (That Researches Everything) in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hi Guys (And Gals)

I am not a qualified electrician. But, I did work as a hardware/software technician with various companies for about 6 years. I still work in general maintenance (for a company) today, so I'm sometimes called upon to fix general electrical faults like lighting failures and broken plugs.

My actual qualification is a City & Guilds Programming Certificate which means I know more about computers (and their many quirks) than is good for me! But good programming is about fault-tracing, then systematically flushing out errors, so that's handy when fixing any circuit, device or appliance known to man (or woman).

I am still asked to fix many a laptop, PC and digital camera that I do as a kind of hobby for family and friends, so yeh... I'm an eternal tinkerer and just cant help myself!

Thanks Pete999 - Your forum already assisted me save a 2KW heater from the skip :grinning: so more power to you :thumbsup: I found some very interesting info on fake fuses, too, so I've posted a guide to replacing fuses in the "Electrical Forum" (which I hope is the right place).

kind regards, nb

Thanks to all for warm welcome (in this cold, cold weather) :santa:

Buzzlightyear's description of me as a "space cowboy" gave me a hearty chortle, I can tell you (as I'm a big fan of that movie: Where 4 oldtimers show the NASA gurus a thing or two!)

In real life, my hero is Neil Armstrong, who was, among other things, a remarkable engineer.

Since I spend too much time researching engineers, astronauts, schematics and fixing computers, I guess I could be described as a wannabe spacecowboy-super-geek quite easily :sunglasses:

To infinity and beyond! :smile:

kind regards nb