Discuss invoicing help? advice from the businessmen/women sparks in the Business Related area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
This is more for accounting reasons rather than customer convenience, how detailed does an invoice have to be?

for example, if I quote someone £80 to install a new light fitting (fitting included) on my invoice can I just put the whole amount "Parts and Labour" and rely on material receipts to work out how much would be taxed?

In your experience what would an accountant expect to see on invoices so they could work out what labour charges can be taxed? I'm a novice at the whole business side of things so any help would be greatly appreciated :)

Just do cash for all jobs and declare nothing!
No, seriously, it depends on how big your business is, and how easy you want it to run.
For me, the labour and parts are separate. This means I don't mark up the parts. That means i lose out a little, but the customer can see that I have not overcharged for parts...I can show the supplier invoice. Also, that makes it easy for your accountant. You can show him/her an invoice with, say, £200 labour, on which you will be taxed, and you can also show him/her the invoices for the parts, where the total will match the invoice to the customer. All nice and easy and above board.