Discuss Is my light socket safe for a diy wood kiln? in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

T.Wiley

DIY
Reaction score
Good morning everyone,

I need help determining safety / use of my light socket for use in a refridgerator wood bowl kiln. Im a wood turner and I need a quicker turn around time on my pieces so I built two kilns each powered by a 40w incandescent light bulb.

The ambience will be humid and the light should ne continiously turned on for three to four weeks. The socket is made from plastic with the wiring completely isolated from the back side, my only doubt is where the bulb screws in. Im not an electrician so I don't know what I'm looking for.

In the product description it says water resistant.

Im including a direct link to one I bought off amazon. Unfortunately its in Spanish so I don't know if that will be manageable to understand exactally what the product is.

I will be happy to share photos of my project to better inform about the question at hand.

Thanks in advance and I hope you can give me some insight about what im looking at here.

Many thanks,

Link: View: https://www.amazon.es/gp/product/B0839G4F92/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

I'm not an electrician but I watched this
View: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Du5YGAtVL3k
to understand what you were trying to do.

So you are putting a light bulb in a well-sealed fridge and water is going to come out of the wood. That will create both humidity and condensation, which may drip. That sounds a lot like a bathroom.

The electricians will tell you exactly what you need, but my feeling is that it's going to need to be IP rated for bathrooms or outdoor use - both the lampholder and the lamp. The lamp holders you linked to don't look suitable.