Discuss Isolating transformer principle in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
As can be seen from my profile I am not a qualified electrician but I'm studying in my own time just for the sake of it. Everywhere I look for info on isolating transformers I get something like this "This means that the isolation transformer secondary side must not be grounded. It would create a physical connection between the primary and secondary transformer side." or "no return path to earth from transformer secondary". I don't get that. If you look at the attached image, is there not a "return path" with 0.24A passing through the body? Perhaps I just don't understand how neutrals/earths work! Any help would be appreciated.isolating-transformer_adjusted.jpg

As can be seen from my profile I am not a qualified electrician but I'm studying in my own time just for the sake of it. Everywhere I look for info on isolating transformers I get something like this "This means that the isolation transformer secondary side must not be grounded. It would create a physical connection between the primary and secondary transformer side." or "no return path to earth from transformer secondary". I don't get that. If you look at the attached image, is there not a "return path" with 0.24A passing through the body? Perhaps I just don't understand how neutrals/earths work! Any help would be appreciated.View attachment 43600
This may help, but it is one of many explanations
During my working time Isolation transformers in the context I was working in were used as a security means, equipment was not connected to the mains physically.

Hi - my fractured way of thinking, for what it's worth :)
As the 2ndary winding is not attached to E within the transformer, it means that we can make either end into 0V. So in your pic, the end Mr Stick touches should drop to OV (ish) and not hurt him (much).

Last edited: